Masters Nationals & Internationals - Results

2021 National Masters

Tauranga Hockey was ready to host Masters in 2021 when the tournament was cancelled 11 hours from the first whistle, due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

2020 World Cup Squads

Congratulations to Tauranga players who have been named in World Cup squads after the recent Masters' National tournament in Christchurch. We also have Tauranga coaches and managers selected for national duty.

Women's 35: Natasha Leong & Chelsea Roper

Women's 40s: Carol Orton, Aroha Thompson (BOP) & Rose Prisk (BOP), 

Women's 45s: Jan Nikora (BOP)

Women's 50s: Anna Rossi, Deb Masters & Petrina Martelli (manager)

Women's 55s: Sandy Kindley & Wendy Shanley

Women's 60s: Jocelyn Sawyer, Liz Saunders, Jenny Travis, Jenny Harrington, Gill Gemming (coach) & Sue McHaffie-Green (non-travelling reserve)

Men's 40s: Lance Workman & Luke Rutherford (non-travelling reserve)

Men's 55s: Alan Prestage, Dean Bowden, Geoff Williamson & Kevin Avery

Men's 60s: Kajal Mukherjee, Gene Coates-Reid (player and coach - player status subject to injury status) & Joanne Coates-Reid (manager)

Men's 65s: Jeff Garnett

Men's 70s: Barry Prestney & Mahendra Singh

2020 Masters' National tournament, 23 - 29 February, Christchurch 

Canterbury Hockey hosted the 2020 National Masters Tournament at Nunweek and Ngā Puna Wai. There was a record 82 teams entered in the largest domestic Hockey NZ tournament. Tauranga had seven teams attend, some combined with BOP Hockey or Waikato Hockey.

Women's 60s and Men's 55s won the gold medal in their division. Women's 50s won the silver medal, with Women's 55s coming 4th. Women's 45s came 4th, Men's 40s finsihed 6th and Women's 35s ended up in 9th place. For further information see our news article: Click here

2019 Masters' National Tournament Results 

Congratulations to our teams:

W60s - Gold MedalW55s - Silver Medal       
W45s - Bronze MedalW35s - 4th
M55s - Silver MedalM40s - 5th

2016 ​​​​​​​Masters Nationals 28 February - 5 March, Nelson

W55: coached by Gill Gemming, the defending national champs. The team is looking on track for the finals – wins 9-0 Wanganui, 4-0 Northland, 2-1 Auckland and 1-0 against Northland.  They play Canterbury.  Their stats so far are 16 goals for, one against.
W50: playing off today in the 5th and 6th game against Nelson. They had a win against Nelson in the round robin and losses against Southern, Wellington and Auckland.
W45: had a great win against North Harbour, beating their old foe 2-0. They have had losses against Northland, Auckland and Wellington and are currently sitting in 6th place.
M50: had a win against Counties Manukau (3-0), two draws with Canterbury and a loss against Auckland. They played Manawatu in the 5th and 6th playoff.  Gene Coates-Reid is second equal individual goal scorer.

2016 FIH Masters’ World Cup, Canberra

Congratulations to all our world champions and medal winners.

Women’s 60s win gold - beat England 2-1 in the final -Tauranga players

Women’s 55s win silver - Gill Gemming coached, Tauranga players

Women’s 50s win silver - Franki Traini coached, Petrina Martelli managed, Tauranga players

Women’s 45s win silver - Donna Williams managed, Tauranga players

Men’s 55s finish 5th - Tauranga players

2015 NZ Masters' Trans-Tasman Tournament 

Congratulations to Gill Gemming, our President, who coached the NZ W55 team to victory. Congratulations to all Tauranga players involved in all the age groups, playing, coaching or managing.

​​​​​​​2015 Masters Nationals 1 - 7 March, Napier

A very successful Masters was held last week in Napier/Hastings and our teams and players performed creditably. 55+ Tauranga Women won the Gold Medal in a thrilling final match with North Harbour 3-1.

Players who were selected in NZ Teams to play in Trans-Tasman event in May were:


Tui Hambrook         NZ35       Veronica Romagneli      NZ 45           Sue Furmage          NZ 50

Sandra Kindley        NZ 50     Brenda Telfer                NZ 55          Liz Saunders           NZ 55

Judy Board              NZ 60.    Barbara Northey           NZ 60.        Jill Tran Van            NZ 60

Mary Wilson            NZ 60     Jane Charleson-Brown   NZ 50+  (non travelling) 

Julie Ryan     NZ55 ( non Traveling).

Coach: Franki Traini    NZ 50   Coach: Gill Gemming  NZ 55  Manager: Petrina Martelli  NZ 50


Geoff Williamson   NZ 50.    Noel Gilliver                 NZ 55           Jeff Garnett            NZ 60

Mahendra Singh     NZ 65     Neville Lucas                 NZ60 ( Non Traveling)

Congratulations to all the players from Tauranga who were selected for these NZ teams.

​​​​​​​FIH 2014 Masters Hockey World Cup - Rotterdam

The following players were selected to compete in the FIH Masters Hockey World Cup tournament played in Rotterdam, Holland.

W40: Veronica Romagnoli, Debbie Masters (non travelling)

W50: Janine Cortes, Sue Furmage, Sandra Kindley

W55: Liz Spratt, Brenda Telfer, Julie Ryan, Gill Gemming (Coach)

M45: Geoff Williamson

M50: Geoff Owens (Non-travelling reserve)

The following players were selected to compete in the FIH Grand Masters Hockey World Cup tournament played in The Hague.

M60: Barry Prestney, Mahendra Singh

​​​​​​​Match schedule 05-06-2014

NZL vs SCO M50                   LOST 1-2      NED60 vs NZL55 W55/60      WON 1-13

Match schedule 06-06-2014

IRL vs NZL W 40/45              WON 0-1      NZL vs IRL M45                     DRAW 0-0

NZL vs ENG W50 25              LOST 1-3

Match schedule 07-06-2014

CIP vs NZL M45                     DRAW 3-3   NZL 55 vs ENG 60 W 55/60    LOST 3-4

NZL vs NED 45 W 40/45         LOST 0-1   ITA vs NZL M50                      LOST 2-1

2013 National Honours for Masters

Coach for Women 60 yrs+ Gill Gemming

Women 55 yrs+  Lynn Whitaker, Barb Northey and Julie Ryan (non-travelling reserve), Jill Tran Van (non-travelling reserve)                                      

Women 40 yrs+   Veronica Romagnoli (non-travelling reserve)

Women 35 yrs+   Monique Eades (non-travelling reserve)

Men 60 yrs +   Mahendra Singh

Men 55 yrs+   Gene Coates-Reid (non-travelling reserve)

Men 50 yrs+  Kajal Mukherjee, Geoff Owen and Alan Prestage

Manager for Men 50yrs+  Jeff Garnett

Men 45 yrs+  Geoff Williamson